Reviews

CHECK AVAILABILITY

impromptu break - Rating 5/5

Went to the IoW for the first time, stayed at the Hillside. Hotels has lots of charm and character. Owner, Gert, and his staff, are welcoming and warm. Great breakfast, and impressive sea views. Well worth a visit.

Reviewer:Andy R | Sat 20th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Beautiful style in Ventnor - Rating 5/5

What a gorgeous place to stay. Danish inspired decor, calm,stylish and a delight to visit. It feels more like a private home than an accommodation house. Breakfast was excellent, and every item was replenished as soon as it was taken. Highly recommended, and would be hard to go past in Ventnor.

Reviewer:H | Thu 18th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Uber Cool - Rating 5/5

"Uber cool decor, with great modern art collection and outdoor art throughout gardens. Staff very helpful and polite. Rooms stark white but very comfortable. Nice quality fittings and bathroom decent size. Fantastic sea views and lovely terrace for drinks. Breakfast very nice. Could be my favourite hotel on Isle of Wight particularly for entertaining customers thereby surpassing my current number one The Seaview Hotel but....... Rooms a bit expensive £160 for single occupancy for one night IS a bit steep particularly for the aisle of Wight."

Reviewer:B | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Fantastic & Wonderful - Rating 5/5

We had a wedding to go to in the New Forestand decided to spend a couple of days on the IOW;my first time back since I was a child. We stayed at Hillside because in all honestly it looked lovely from what we could see online. Needless to say we were not disappointed. The hotel itself is fantastic, and the staff wonderful. We honestly cannot fault our stay and I would be surprised if there were many better hotels on the Island. We'll certainly be back the next time we visit the island.

Reviewer:S | Sat 13th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Charming and comfortable hotel! - Rating 5/5

Had a warm welcome to this recently renovated and comfortable hotel. Sitting rooms with comfortable chairs were available, and our host was genuinely warm and helpful. Had an excellent breakfast. We will definitely be returning on our next trip to the Isle of Wight!

Reviewer:SilverStreak2014| Thu 11th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Fascinating place with great staff - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the Garden Room. When we arrived, it was configured as a double, but with single duvets, and there was no suitcase stand. We mentioned it, popped out briefly, and both 'problems' had been fixed in the meantime. The owners are friendly and have done an enormous amount to work to the hotel in the last few years to bring it up to a top standard. As you approach, it looks as if it is just squeezed into a small patch of the hillside, but in fact there are extensive grounds, complete with doves, Soay sheep and resident red squirrels! Highly recommended.

Reviewer:U | Sat 6th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Charming staff, distinctive decor, great view - Rating 5/5

Gorgeous boutique hotel, set on - guess what? - a hillside overlooking Ventnor. Impeccably clean, cool, light decor and lots of colorful art on the wall. Best of all was the welcome and unfailingly charming, helpful and informative service from manager and team- a real star.

Reviewer:Badger T | Fri 5th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Really excellent - Rating 5/5

It is a wonderful boutique hotel in a marvellous setting overlooking Ventnor Bay. The rooms are chic and immaculate and the welcome is friendly and attentive. The breakfasts made with local produce including from the hotel kitchen garden are great quality.You will see many reviews mention the strange no drinks in the room policy. I.e. Water only in the bedrooms which does make that night cap a bit challenging. It's a little bit unnecessary but don't be put off as it is a great place.You need a car - the walk up the hill from the town is a killer!

Reviewer:David T | Thu 4th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Perfect in any way... - Rating 5/5

It would be unfair to say too much about this superb hotel as it would spoil the many little surprises that make Hillside so very special 😀 Suffice to say it is perfect. You feel you are a much valued guest in their home, which makes you want to treat everything as if you were in your own home - which given how immaculate it is, is just as well!

Reviewer:Jan L | Thu 4th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Beautiful style in Ventnor - Rating 5/5

What a gorgeous place to stay. Danish inspired decor, calm,stylish and a delight to visit. It feels more like a private home than an accommodation house. Breakfast was excellent, and every item was replenished as soon as it was taken. Highly recommended, and would be hard to go past in Ventnor.

Reviewer:Hilary C | Tue 2nd Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

Only spent Monday until Friday but enjoyed every minute. This hotel is different to the normal , but don't let that worry you. The staff are great, pleasant and accommodating, the food is up to the mark, our room had a sea view, and was really pleasant. If we ever return to the Isle of Wight there is no question as to where we will go.

Reviewer:Paul G | Sun 31st Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Perfection - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay with excellent customer service, very welcoming the breakfast was Devine and great coffee! We will definitely come again and recommend highly, very easy access to the beach and town by a short walk.thank you so much.

Reviewer:Jaqui S | Sat 30th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Wonderful stay in a stylish small hotel - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel. The decor was clean and bright - painted white throughout with stylish Scandinavian furniture and the most amazing selection of original works of modern art. Our room was bright and welcoming. The food was delicious with produce from the hotels own vegetable garden. All in all we were made very welcome and enjoyed our stay and will certainly return!

Reviewer:Claire H | Wed 27th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


What a treat! - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed at the Hillside for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had the most wonderful time. Gert made us incredibly welcome from the second we arrived (on our bikes!). We enjoyed relaxing teas in the afternoon and later on G&Ts in the beautiful garden. The only regret we have is not having time to enjoy the evening meals at the Hillside as the menu looked amazing. Going by the delicious breakfasts we had, we have missed out! However, we will definitely be returning and won't make the same mistake again! We are already planning our next stay. Thanks for a wonderful weekend Gert and team!

Reviewer:Sally J | Tue 26th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


A delightful place to stay - Rating 5/5

We received a wonderful welcome from Andrei, guest manager during our stay. Service was very attentive and friendly.The hotel is beautifully decorated, with midcentury Danish furniture juxtaposed against the classic features of an English period property, white walls, oriental rugs and contemporary original artworks. It's a sophisticated but unpretentious combination that makes for a very relaxing stay. The beds were seriously comfortable and shower rooms well designed and a joy to use. Nice views from the front of the hotel over the town to the sea, and of the gardens.We stayed for two nights. The restaurant / breakfast room overlooks the conservatory and gardens. Breakfasts and brasserie menu were excellent with plenty of variety, and great service. Reasonably priced.It's a short walk down a steep hill to the town of Ventnor.Would highly recommend this hotel!

Reviewer:Mclean C | Sun 24th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Stylish, elegant and welcoming - Rating 5/5

The pictures online did not do this hotel justice! It is so very beautiful. The decor is stylish and elegant with just the right amount of comfort. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our upgraded seaview room which was perfect. Crisp, clean white bed linen and wonderful artwork which continues all through the property. The seaview was the icing on the cake, in spite of the downpour when we arrived.Our hosts and their staff were friendly and attentive and we must give a mention particularly to Andrei who introduced us to the goats and looked after us so brilliantly.I can't wait to come back for another visit. Thank you very much for making this the relaxing getaway we needed.

Reviewer:A | Fri 22nd Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


A Gem of a place - Rating 5/5

I have returned from a two night stay at Hillside with my mother and auntie. Taking loved ones away with a combined age of 172 years might have had its challenges. However from the moment Andrei & Gert greeted us so warmly on arrival, we received the finest customer service and nothing was too much trouble. Deliciously prepared breakfast and supper, great wine, a spotlessly clean hotel with inspiring interior decor, blissfully comfortable beds in a stunning location combined to make a memorable break.

Reviewer:Julia R | Thu 21st Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Wonderful hotel where you might not expect to find one . . - Rating 5/5

We stayed a week - our first visit to the IoW, and I thought a week would be too long - but I could have happily stayed a month at the Hillside. It has a sense of gentle, playful sophistication. I've never been very comfortable sitting in the public rooms of hotels, but at Hillside we sat for two or three evenings after returning from supper, and found it to be a friendly, relaxed and comfortable place to be. The world holds a lot of intriguing places to visit before you start returning to favourites, but this is one I'd visit again happily. To get down to detail:lovely décor, great artwork, good food, a great view, and an engaged family running things. It's a little bit different from your average boutique hotel, and all the more attractive and enjoyable for it.

Reviewer:L | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Anniversary celebration.- Rating 5/5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay here. On arrival we were greeted by James and Andre who were absolutely brilliant throughout our stay. The Hillside is beautiful in every way and we enjoyed delicious food at dinner and at breakfast. I love the fact that the kitchen use produce grown on site in the kitchen garden. Our room had a fantastic sea view and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The weather was lovely so we could sit in the gardens and watch the resident sheep and chicken, as well as the tennis at the club next door! The Hillside is perfect in every way and I can’t recommend it highly enough, I hope we’ll return again soon!

Reviewer:Helen C | Sat 2nd Mar 2019 | 7 months ago


It's got the lot, Well Done - Rating 5/5

"What do you look for from a great hotel? well we look for Great rooms, Great food, Great staff and a Super location and this hotel has them all. We have a great few days here and the level of attention from the staff was excellent. From start to finish everything was just perfect, thank you James and the staff."

Reviewer:S | Sun 9th Dec 2018 | 9 months ago


A touch of Danish \"hygge\" on the Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

We've stayed twice at Hillside and really enjoy this oasis of calm and hospitality. Gert exudes Scandinavian "hygge"- the art or providing a warm welcome - and nothing is too much trouble for the team. Rooms are simple but stylish and spotless. Breakfast is always delicious and you can dine at their Bistro in town when the restaurant is closed.

Reviewer:Deborah S | Wed 25th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


holiday visit - Rating 5/5

beatifu;l setting, very warm welcome, gorgeous food, we highly recommend hillside. we originally booked for three nights but extended our stay for a further night.

Reviewer:Russell T | Wed 8th Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


short shot of perfect - Rating 5/5

A limited time for a break but this hotel stay delivered just what we needed - we returned to London happy refreshed and dreaming of our return to Hillside.

Reviewer:Ms. Wendy B | Thu 11th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Hillside Ventnor - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and immaculately presented hotel.

Reviewer:Mike M | Tue 19th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Hillside Ventnor - Rating 5/5

really lovely one night stay. Lovely clean comfortable rooms and both dinner and breakfast were excellent but most importantly we were made really welcome. There were also some nice surprises in the rooms;personal touches not out of a formula/design book.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter N | Wed 22nd Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Winter break in Ventnor - Rating 5/5

We spent four nights at Hillside in February this year. We enjoyed every minute of our stay, despite typically unpredictable winter weather, hail and rainbows one minute and brilliant sunshine the next. Just the thing for strenuous walks along the coast. The team at Hillside went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. We will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Ms. Judith Serota| Wed 8th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


What a fabulous place! - Rating 5/5

I really loved my brief stay at The Hillside. The house is so bright and beautiful, inside and out, with incredible views and a wonderful welcome. There were even white doves outside my window when I woke up in the morning, adding to the magical atmosphere of the place.I wish I could have stayed longer, but hope to return in the not too distant future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Frances W | Thu 26th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Perfect short stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed at Hillside over the start of the New Year.Gert was the perfect host, making our stay very special.The rooms were extremely comfortable and the two lounges were perfect places to relax.There was great attention to detail and we will certainly visit again.

Reviewer:Tim L | Mon 2nd Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


An incredible weekend in Ventnor - Rating 5/5

I arranged a weekend break to celebrate the impending 25th wedding annuversary of one of the attendees.The group of five arrived and were immediately greeted on arrival by the owner, who must have had a sixth sense that we had arrived, such was the efficiency and warmth of greeting we all received.Our rooms were impeccable and the hotel and its surroundings second to none.Our breakfasts were first class and set us up impeccably for the day's activities.A highlight was the dinenr we booked at the restarant on site - the food was outstanding and the list of fine wines available were immaculate.I am looking forward to going back to Ventnor with my partner for a romantic weekend and Hillside will undoubtedbnly be the first and only place we will choose to stayIn summary, a fabulous venue, impeccable service, the most warm and cordial hosts and excellent food.Put simply, I cannot wait to come back again.

Reviewer:Mark E | Fri 5th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


hillside - Rating 5/5

Fourth time we have stayed at Hillside and the excellent standard continues.Beautifully decorated and set in an oustanding garden.Gert and the team are all very friendly and helpful.A great setting for a special break.

Reviewer:Mr. HaydnJ | Tue 1st Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

This is a beautiful hotel. We stayed in the stables so had the benefit of kitchen facilities which was great for having a cup of coffee or early evening drink. The gardens of this property are a particular feature and sitting on the terrace enjoying the view is delightful. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as it was closed for our stay but the food at the bistro also owned by Hillside was very good.

Reviewer:Mr. Maxwell P | Thu 12th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Just returned..... - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a two night stay - warm and friendly, understated, but spot on hospitality.Rooms smallish, but well designed in a minimalist way.Bed comfortable with good quality bed linen.Will be returning to Hillside on our next visit without a doubt!

Reviewer:Mrs. Susanne G | Mon 2nd Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Saying it all - Rating 5/5

Apart from the Oriental Bangkok this is the only hotelto which we would wish to return

Reviewer:Brian H | Mon 26th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Relaxing break on the Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay.A very comfortable, relaxing and friendly hotel with great attention to detail. Beautiful grounds and welcoming hosts. Good breakfasts and excellent, good value food at the bistro in the centre of Ventnor.We will undoubtedly return.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris P | Fri 18th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Hillside, Ventnor, IOW - Rating 4/5

Accommodation was lovely and Gert made us feel very welcome.Food at the Bistro was excellent.Have already recommended Hillside to some friends :)

Reviewer:Mrs. Filomena A | Tue 1st Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

We honeymooned here for a weekend. The team made every effort to make our stay incredibly special.We can't reccomend this dependent, comfortable hotel and it's delicious sister bistro enough.

Reviewer:Mr. Edward C | Mon 24th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Warm and welcoming - a perfect stay - Rating 5/5

This beautifully restored 18th century home was the perfect setting for a relaxing break near the sea. Gert and his team were gracious and did their utmost to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. The rooms were immaculate and I had one of the best vegetarian full English breakfasts EVER.My husband and I travelled from London without a car and were pleased to learn it was easy reach the hotel by public transport.Bus #3 is your best bet and drives right past the hotel. (The island's bus system fantastic and doubled as our scenic tour provider;and the drivers are very skilled at getting through those narrow country lanes!)We will definitely be returning. Hopefully next time for a longer stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Simon N | Mon 10th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


The perfect hideaway - Rating 5/5

It has been a delight staying at such a beautiful and special place as the Hillside Hotel. This place has a special energy and thanks to the attention and care of the staff we just felt treated like very good friends. The rooms are so welcoming and cozy and the scandinavian interior design is a perfect match with the vibrant paintings -,each room has different originals- it was just an immense pleasure staying there. The breakfast with homemade yogurt and muesli was simply delicious and dinner in the Bistro ,which is owned by the hotel, was fantastic .We had a Bouillabaise which couldn't have been better in France and aexcellent risotto ai funghi .The beetroot tart is exeptional and the specially imported redGassac wine addictive...dinner the next day at the hotel was at the same heightwe are definitely looking forward to come back soon whenever we feel the need to escape from harsh reality of a big city

Reviewer:Mrs. Vivian B | Sun 2nd Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


5
Very Good

38 reviews

5
97%
4
3%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%